Green Button Function Blocks

Function Blocks

The NAESB REQ.21 ESPI standard uses Function Blocks to define the type of data a Utility can provide a Third Party service provider and the type of data a Third Party service provider requests from the Utility during the OAuth 2.0 access-token request process.

The list of available Function Blocks a Utility supports is shown in the <scope>(from ESPI) element field of the <ApplicationInformation>(from ESPI)  resource—and the resource may contain multiple  <scope>(from ESPI) entries.  A Function Block may represent one-or-more categories of supported information in compliance with the NAESB REQ.21 ESPI standard.

Function Block Categories

Each Function Block may represent one or more of the following Certification Categories and contains tests to verify compliance with the respective categories.

  • Certification
  • Cyber Security
  • Data Element
  • Data Format
  • File Name Format
  • Fundamental
  • Privacy
  • Protocol
  • User Interface

Usage Data Function Blocks

Function Blocks marked as MANDATORY are required to meet both CMD and DMD Certification requirements.  Function Blocks marked CMD-MANDATORY or DMD-MANDATORY are only required to meet their respective Certification type.  All unmarked Function Blocks are optional for certification.

NOTE: [FB_04] requires that at least one type of Interval Data from the following list MUST be certified in addition to [FB_04] for both CMD and DMD certification.

  1. [FB_05] Electricity Interval Metering
  2. [FB_10] Natural Gas Interval Metering
  3. [FB_11] Water Interval Metering
  4. [FB_29] Temperature Interval Metering